Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Image

The Cookie Cuckoo went Cake Crazy yesterday in honor of World Baking Day today!

I bought a Bundt pan recently and I have been wanting to try it out, so what better time than World Baking Day? As I said before, the only dilemma was whether to bake a lemon cake or a chocolate cake. A quick browse through my recipes in Evernote (it’s my 21st century recipe box) and I decided on Perfectly Chocolate Bundt Cake, which I had saved from Cookie Madness (another cookie nut with a penchant for cakes, apparently!).

This cake could have been called Perfectly Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake. Most of the ingredients were standard cupboard items and the technique was as simple as any boxed mix. But the results were far from quotidien — a moist, decadent crumb turned out in that most elegant of forms, the Bundt pan, then robed in a silky ganache (with its secret ingredient of marshmallows), did me proud.

I’ve already given away half of the cake since there are only two of us here to enjoy it this weekend. And it’s that tempting that I could eat the whole thing myself. There was leftover batter (only fill a Bundt pan 2/3 of the way full), so I made miniature cupcakes, which I then dipped in the ganache. Those little buttons practically pop themselves into your mouth!

Even if you don’t try this cake, I hope you will bake something today for World Baking Day. There are plenty of recipes here to inspire you. It won’t take as long as you’d think and the results will be stunning because you made it yourself!

Image

